Gilmore Girls – A lifetime of transformation

Today, I finished watching the Gilmore Girls series for the second time. The entire production is excellent, from witnessing the young Lorelai Gilmore deliver a new life into this world at 16 to monitoring their journey in close-up for 153 episodes, and the last one, A Year in the Life, which molded everything much more beautifully than I’d imagined.

I started watching this movie on a friend’s recommendation, and bless her heart, she wasn’t wrong. I recall her telling me how she would watch the series when she was bored or wanted something to play in the background. For me, it was the same and more. I found it a nice source of comfort when I finished work and wanted to get on with my housework, or when I needed something to warm my soul.

Movie characters

There’s something unique about the two Gilmore girls’ friendship, the way they leaned on each other over all difficulties. Without a doubt, the little town and its citizens played an important role in their journey. I was pleasantly surprised by how they helped and cared for one another in a clumsy, unapologetic manner.

I loved the characters, the peace that Luke’s diner would bring to the small town, the crazy, determined Taylor and his ludicrous plans to improve the city at any cost, the warm neighbors, Babette and Morey, Kirk and his struggle to be forcefully loved and appreciated, Rory’s friend Lane Kim and her impossible but loving mother, the determined Paris and her plans to conquer the world.

Lorelai and her daughter also developed wonderful friendships throughout the years. From the decisive connection with Mia to Sookie’s wild enthusiasm for cooking to Michel’s hilarious yet genuine responses.

Gilmore Girls’ parents were no exception. Richard and Emily played an important key role in the entire production, from sustaining Rory in College to supporting the two financially and chaining them to a never-ending Friday Dinner fiasco.

Personal take

A year has obviously changed me, and as a result, I see this movie in a completely different light than the first time I saw it. And I believe that the lessons the characters had to learn in the film were a decent mirror of my own life experiences.

I recall Emily Gilmore’s motherly grief as she tried to reconnect with her daughter, Lorelai. It made me think of how, when I was in college, I pushed my mother away because her love and protection seemed too much for me, in a dreadful attempt to fight back against my growing process.

I remembered my father telling me how much my mother had grieved and how sorry she was that I had left, how the house felt lonely, and how she no longer had her daughter at home. I apologized to her at the time, but no one truly knows the grief a mother goes through.

The movie depicted the Girlmore Girls’ love life as unpredictable, prone to error, and always changing. I appreciated how they didn’t try to hide their feelings and would just take action when things went wrong; I admired their diplomatic approach to relationships.

The final episode was superb. Lorelai and Luke finally get married. Lorelay wanting to expand the inn. Emily Gilmore selling the house she shared with her husband and purchasing a new property by the sea, all while appreciating and caring for her maids. I can’t decide which one I liked more.

The last line of Rory, which surprised everyone, made me ponder. What if the circle of life never ends? Are we going to follow in our parents’ steps until we discover our peace and place in the world? I guess we’ll have to wait and see for ourselves.

18 gânduri despre “Gilmore Girls – A lifetime of transformation

  1. I watched it for the first time recently. I didn’t like the super rich boyfriend. I found him entitled and privileged, and he could be a real jerk at times too. The rest of it though had so much charm. Luke is one of my favourite characters from the show too, but all the others had their own warmth and quirks too. The grandmother, daughter, granddaughter relationship really was the heart of the show. Nothing else on TV like it.

      1. Couldn’t stand him. I kept hoping they’d get rid of him, but he was there right through, and even in the update. The way he treated people with less money than him, the way he would break up relationships, the way he could make mistake after mistake and get bailed out yet feel sorry for himself. And yet the way they wrote the other characters was great.

      2. I didn’t necessarily dislike him, but I couldn’t like him either. I also didn’t like the way he’d look down on Marty, in Rory’s first college years.

        Yeah, the other characters were great, I enjoyed watching the movie.

      3. Yeah, and then he broke up Marty and his gf’s relationship, the same night he would brag about not doing any work when Marty admitted he had to do four jobs whilst at college. The way they wrote Emily in particular was superb. It’s so good you highlighted her.

      4. Yeah, he used to be a jerk and get away with it. Did you like Jess?

        Oh but Emily was poetic. I enjoyed her transformation in the last update, as you put it. The Emily in Paris we truly needed 😂

      5. Emily in Paris haha. Yes, when she bonds with Rory or when she fights back against Lorelai are some of my favourite moments of the show. My favourite episode may well be when she falls asleep with Dean (nothing happens) but they’re out late and Emily and Lorelai get into a big row about it. That argument is some of the best writing I’ve seen.

        Yeah, save for one of two less savoury things, Jess was great. That chalk outline was so funny. And he really got his life together. He gave Rory the advice about the book, and he wrote one himself. He even paid the money back too, and was really grateful for Luke’s help, financially and otherwise.

      6. Oh well, one of their biggest fights, I’d say. I find it amusing how Lorelai stands outside their parents house in cold before entering, just to avoid the single encounter.

        Yeah, I didn’t expect Jess to turn around like that, he turned out great. And Dean, OMG, in the last episode I barely recognized him. The actor was busy growing in the Supernatural series 😂 .

  2. I watch when it was on air, and yep, binged again when they came back….I loved the language the interaction, the script….always smart…my fave characters were Sally Struthers (Babette) and Miss Patty…it was real…

  3. Katherine, my wife and two of our daughters are really into GGs. I was in the supermarket last week and I noticed at the checkout stand, they had one of those special edition magazines devoted to the series… pix, biopics, plots, etc. I got it for them and they love it. Maybe you could find it somewhere 😎

Lasă un comentariu

Acest site folosește Akismet pentru a reduce spamul. Află cum sunt procesate datele comentariilor tale.